.

Lake County Chowdown Showdown

Where is the best place to get a burger in Lake County?

We are happy to introduce a new restaurant review column on Grayslake Patch, Lake Forest-Lake Bluff Patch and Libertyville Patch— effective now and centered around, and dependent upon, our readers.

The Chowdown Showdown is meant to be a fun way for readers to vote on their favorite places to get certain entrees in Lake County.

For example, this week, we are on a mission to find the best burger place in Lake County. Instead of sending a food review columnist out to give their sole opinion, we will be looking to you, the readers, to make that decision.

We will post a column first thing every Monday morning on the site asking for your favorite spots to get a certain type of food. We will also be asking readers on Facebook and Twitter.

By 5 p.m. Tuesday, we will take the three most popular submissions and post as a poll in a column first thing Wednesday morning.

From there: It’s up to you to vote. You can vote by submitting a poll answer, telling us in the comments’ section of the column or by commenting on Facebook — Grayslake Patch page, Lake Forest Lake Bluff Patch page, or the Libertyville Patch page — or sending us a message on Twitter — @GrayslakePatch, @LakeForestPatch, or @LvillePatch.

If you are really pulling for a certain restaurant, be sure to share the columns on your personal Facebook page and Twitter feed to get your favorite spot more visibility.

We will keep the voting going until 5 p.m. Friday each week. At that time, the restaurant with the most votes will be named Patch’s Chowdown Showdown Champion and will have ultimate bragging rights over the fact that they make the best burger or pizza or omelet — you get the point!

This is all about participation so we hope you will chime in and check back.
Now that you know what’s going on, lets get the ball rolling.

Patch readers, tell us, what is the BEST place to get a burger in Lake County?

Mitch October 24, 2011 at 06:21 PM
Bulldogs Grill Wauconda. Best burgers you'll ever eat.
Jennifer October 24, 2011 at 06:21 PM
If you love burgers you MUST go to Bulldog Grill in Wauconda, IL. It is imaginative and delicious. The purist can dive into a cheese buger or for the adventurist you can tackle the burger of the day. My favorite is the "slap your momma" my son loves the Hangover Burger. A bacon cheese buger with a fried egg on top.
Jared October 24, 2011 at 06:36 PM
Bulldogs in Wauconda, hands down. great flavor, lots of variety, and fun diner feel.
Jessica Lopez October 24, 2011 at 06:45 PM
Bulldogs in Wauconda!!! The MacDaddy! Buger with bacon and mac n cheese on top! Yum!
Garrett Jennings October 24, 2011 at 07:02 PM
Bulldogs in Wauconda - my personal fave is the Buffalo Burger
Darrell Harmon October 24, 2011 at 07:10 PM
No Match! Bulldogs in Wauconda!
Wanda Speer October 24, 2011 at 07:23 PM
Bulldogs in Wauconda...so many burgers, so little time! A huge list and something for everyone. Their black & bleu is amazing! And what goes better with a great burger? The best hand-dipped milkshakes around!
Kathy October 24, 2011 at 07:25 PM
Bulldogs Grill in Wauconda has the best burgers around.
Michele Ralston October 24, 2011 at 07:31 PM
I live in St. Louis, and I constantly crave Bulldogs burgers. You are very lucky to have such a gem so close by. Whenever I visit my sister, who lives in Wauconda, knows at least one trip to Bulldogs will be on my agenda (I can barely wait until Thanksgiving!) There are so many different kinds of burgers so it is impossible to get in a rut. Plus, if you're not in a burger mood, there are plenty of other things on the menu.
Shari Wuebben October 24, 2011 at 07:47 PM
Bulldogs in Wauconda! So many different burgers to choose from...and they are all delicious! Whether you want simple classic or wildly creative, there is a burger for everyone!
Tracy Hocutt West October 24, 2011 at 07:48 PM
Bulldogs in Wauconda!! Not only do they have the tastiest burgers around, but their staff is the nicest you will ever meet!!
Teresa M October 24, 2011 at 07:53 PM
Uhhh why is this even a contest?!?!? BULLDOGS in Wauconda! Incredible.
Bart Gilliland October 24, 2011 at 08:07 PM
Bulldogs!! The "Hangover" burger is my absolute favorite. The creativity and quality of all the menu items is unlike any place I've ever been. Very comfortable atmosphere and incredibly friendly staff. I look forward to it everytime I'm able to come visit Wauconda:)
Liz October 24, 2011 at 08:21 PM
Bulldogs Grill, no doubt about it!!! My personal fave is the black & blue burger. Pair that with their fresh cut Parmesan fries and I'm in heaven!!!
Kris October 24, 2011 at 08:53 PM
By far Bulldogs in Wauconda!! The Slap Your Mama is the most fantastic burger you will sink a tooth into. Match it up with any order of their Delicious Wings. Yummy!
Karen Drescher Jenn October 24, 2011 at 09:58 PM
Bulldogs... Best Burger EVER.
Karen Drescher Jenn October 24, 2011 at 09:59 PM
Oh and don't forget the duck fries on Fryday!
danny marcx October 25, 2011 at 12:07 AM
BULLDOGS in Waucanda!!!!!! BEST BURGERS ANYWHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!
burmannicole@hotmail.com October 25, 2011 at 12:30 AM
Bulldogs in Wauconda!!!!!
Susie October 25, 2011 at 12:36 AM
Bulldogs has by far the best burgers !!
JohnR October 25, 2011 at 12:39 AM
No question. Bulldogs Wauconda.
Karrie Turner October 25, 2011 at 02:25 AM
Bulldogs is the only place to get a burger....period!
Tim October 25, 2011 at 03:34 AM
If you want a burger, Bulldog's in Wauconda is the place. Their burgers make other places' burgers look like White Castle!
Maria October 25, 2011 at 12:04 PM
Favorite burgers (including a breakfast burger) are expertly prepared at Bulldogs Grill in Wauconda. Worth the trip, best meat, best buns, great staff!
Kim Mininni October 25, 2011 at 01:05 PM
BULLDOGS in Wauconda -- simply the BEST!!
Brian Linning October 25, 2011 at 03:51 PM
Bulldogs is the place an awesome burger and MORE! My kids (14 and under) rate Bulldogs burgers and the best, even better than "the gourmet burger place" Red Robin. Bulldogs sets the bar very high for what a truly delicious burger should taste like.
Gringo Sushi October 26, 2011 at 01:43 AM
Although Bobby's Barrel Inn has a helluva double cheeseburger, in a showdown the edge goes to a medium rare Black n Blue Burger at Bulldogs on Main Street in Wauconda Illinois. Add some garlic fries and a chocolate shake to share with your honey and that's pretty much hamburger heaven on earth!
CARRIE October 27, 2011 at 01:54 AM
BULLDOGS BABY!!!!!
Linda October 28, 2011 at 11:13 AM
Absolutely...Bulldogs Grill!
Keith P. Buehler March 28, 2012 at 03:22 PM
I too am a Bulldogs fan, but Tom & Eddie's is also excellent.....

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something